Out of the Closet

Tonight the University’s Board of Reagants and Chancellor toured the museum which is associated with the University. You know, sing for your supper, yet there is no supper to give. After showing off my department, I opted to tag along. It is not often that you get to hear about the collections and research done in other departments. As we entered the collection range where we house specimens, I’m in the back of the group with the director. She is extremely gregarious and always checking in with the staff. I couldn’t ask for a better director.

She whispers to me if I know that another staff member is pregnant. I do. She then asks if I am planning to have any kids because she loves to have children at the museum. I tell her no because we have medical problems.

This marks the first time I didn’t lie, cry, or become enraged when confronted with that question. I think I can officially say that I’m out of the infertility closet. Now to get busy stitching that red letter I on all of my clothing.

Leave a Reply

