They are people. Not a pre-existing condition.

I know a lot of people want to see the Affordable Care Act gone. I hear from them that it is not affordable. I hear that they are healthy and don’t need it. Two years ago, we were healthy too. Two years ago, I didn’t think too much about health insurance except how much came out of my paycheck to cover it. That was two years ago. Now, especially now, it is on our minds and affects many decisions going forward. I feel as if we are hindered in our options because they must include health insurance. We cannot lose our health insurance. Our crappy health insurance that argues with us about every doctor decision but in the end shells out thousands of dollars monthly for my husband’s vital medication. You didn’t live with him before he was treated. He could barely function, he was a shell of the person he was. Full treated, he can work and give back to society.

Our health system is not perfect. It was fucked before the ACA, but it is a step toward unfuckery of the system.

robinwoodnewsminer
Photo by Robin Wood, Daily News Miner

I proudly marched next to 2,000 fellow Fairbanksans in -15F and in spirit with millions of others who are worried about the direction our society is heading. One of the women marching yesterday was a 10-year-old cancer survivor. She made the front page of our local newspaper and New York Times in a collection of photos from women’s marches around the world. She is a person with dreams and aspirations, not merely a pre-existing condition as insurance companies see her as. My husband, her, and millions of others that have lifelong conditions are people. I’m happy for you that you and your family are healthy (right now) but have some compassion for those that drew the short end of the stick. Walk a mile in their and their loved one’s shoes. [Seriously, clink on this link and read this mother’s post about her daughter’s sign and her battle with cancer.]

7 thoughts on “They are people. Not a pre-existing condition.

  1. Amen to that. When I left my corporate job to start my own company I ended up not being able to have my own health insurance for three years because of the pre-existing conditions clause. The two ironic things about it for me were that a) the first company to decline me was the company I actually had insurance with in the corporate job, and b) their reason for declining me was that I had too many past claims ( this was ironically well before my infertility troubles begin… my sum total of ” too many claims” were comprised of annual visits to my OBGYN, getting a prescription for my monthly thyroid medication which of course I learned later they had under prescribed and had never fixed my TSH), visits to a therapist after my divorce from my first husband, and one visit to the emergency room after getting a concussion. So I never even had a major pre-existing condition beyond hypothyroidism. Then when my husband immigrated here to marry me he was battling a life-threatening disease but fortunately the ACA had just passed so we were able to get him a plan but couldn’t get one for me because of cost because his alone was $400 a month and to add me would have doubled that. But that only lasted a couple of months because the insurance company decided that even though they’ve covered his $1,500 a month medication the first two months that they had made a mistake and weren’t going to cover it anymore so we had to just jump off the plan and stop his treatment early. Thanks Blue Cross! 🙂

    Like

    1. Insurance companies are the bane of my existence! I want them gone. Banished. They will do anything to get out of covering any medical expense – I wonder how much they paid someone to figure out how to not cover your husband’s meds??? They could care less about you as a person. And they are not going broke. It is a multi-million dollar industry. Your health and well-being for profit. http://www.newsobserver.com/news/business/article62668492.html

      In my ideal world, we would have socialized medical care but we need to find a different name for it. Some reason “socialized” scares people. ACA is not perfect but it is a step in the right direction. Same with evolution – I now tell people I study “change over time” and they are okay with that. 😉

      Like

      1. Couldn’t agree more… and they won’t even reimburse mental health because my therapist doesn’t have the right kind of licensing… so we pay 75 bucks an hour for that…Ugh. and a month later I’m still waiting for reimbursement on the endometrial biopsy since those are $1,000 a pop.

        Like

      2. And it’s almost worse because my husband is from Australia where he paid $35 total for three months of treatment back there. I don’t even let him talk to insurance companies as he gets so mad at the way things work in this country!

        Like

  2. This is one of the reasons I love the Netherlands, health insurance is for everyone… regardless of pre-exsisting conditions. It’s not a fight every time you need something. They even covered things that I didn’t think they should. Most coverage also covers fertility treatments (three rounds of IVF), alternative treatments (massage etc), therapy and other bits & bops. There is a lot to be said for European healthcare.

    Like

    1. I would wager that in Europe, people don’t have to start a GoFund my account to cover ridiculous medical expenses. If my family and life weren’t here, I’d move back to Germany in a heartbeat. Though I may look more into doing IVF in Germany. I think I could get my German vacation and a round of IVF for the price of one IVF round in the States.

      Like

      1. Definitely consider it! I know of lots of people who travel to Prague for IVF as it’s even cheaper (and also offers egg donor which isn’t available in Germany) and have had good experiences so that could be an option either if you both if you had a few weeks. Here’s an example of costs at the clinic in Germany I’ll be going to, the “self payer option” ; http://www.kwz-heidelberg.de/en/kosten.html
        And you might find this interesting too: http://www.irishbabyfairy.com/how-to-do-ivf-in-prague/
        I’ve also heard of some women using Clomid for a mini IVF which is also cheaper. You’d only need about two weeks or so since you could fly home after the transfer.

        Like

Leave a Reply

