Saying Good-Bye to My Best Friend

As a sophomore in college, I was in the midst of thinking what was I going to do post-graduation. I had two ideas: Peace Corps or a dog. On a whim, I stopped by the local animal shelter and fell in love with an out of control black lab named Juneau. I had wanted a dog and chickens for as long as I could remember. However, my mom is neither a dog or a chicken person. After having both dogs and ducks, I very much understand why my mother was not going to get the 10-year-old me either.

Juneau was a little over a year old when I took her home and both of us required lots of training. She was there next to me throughout my 20s and early 30s, a fixture in my daily life while I was her entire life.

Together we’ve hiked mountains and hills across Alaska.

 

Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 2.43.35 PMScreen Shot 2017-05-22 at 2.43.52 PMScreen Shot 2017-05-22 at 2.43.10 PMScreen Shot 2017-05-22 at 2.45.45 PM

 

She eagerly endured the car trip to DC and then back to Alaska. Always up for a car ride and an adventure.

We learned about ticks together as we explored the East Coast.

She was there when I received my undergraduate degree, my masters, and my first job. I sobbed into her fur after many break-ups. She accepted my husband as one of the pack when she realized he was here to stay. She was with us when we got married and thoroughly enjoyed her mishap with nacho cheese that night.

She has had her toes in both the Atlantic and the Pacific Ocean.

She wanted to be everyone’s friend, and most everyone wanted to her friend.

 

She tolerated dress-up and endless photo-ops.

 

She was always up for an adventure even at the end when her body was no longer on board. She still gave life everything she had. She did everything with overwhelming enthusiasm. Two traits I want to emulate.

Friday we had to say good-bye to my best friend. As much as I would have wanted her to live forever, I couldn’t allow her to live in pain for me. After 14 years of non-stop adventure, she was ready to go even if I wasn’t ready. She was everything I imagined my first dog would be, I simply wish she could of lived forever.

 

 

9 thoughts on “Saying Good-Bye to My Best Friend

  1. No matter how much you know you have to do it, it doesn’t stop it from sucking. I balled reading this – so beautiful of a life you gave Juneau (and she to you), and it’ll never be the same without her. Big hugs to you guys.

    Like

    1. Yup, worse call I have ever had to make. Looking at photos of her helped remind me that she had a great run. We went and did some pretty amazing things together. I wouldn’t be the person I am today if it wasn’t for her unwavering love and loyalty.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh I’m so sorry. Losing a beloved pet is a unique kind of pain…and I’m sending lots of love through this computer to you. She’s very lucky to have found you, and you her…it sounds like you both made each other’s loves more full. Xoxo. Take care of yourself during this painful time.

    Like

    1. New kind of pain for me as I’ve never a dog before let alone my own pet (family cats growing up), she has been by my side as I went from young adult to an adult, and where I watched her go from carefree puppy to old dog. Even with all the pain, it was worth the incredible 12 year run we had.

      Like

  3. I’m so sorry to learn about the passing of Juneau. She seemed like an amazing, sweet companion. Like 30yo said, “a beautiful tribute.” I like when you write “I sobbed into her fur” –> I’ve done that my dogs many times throughout this infertility rollercoaster. Yes, so many ticks on the East Coast – it’s no joke. I hope you didn’t get familiar with Lyme disease-causing deer ticks. Did you ever take Juneau to Assateague Island where the feral horses roam? P.S. You have a beautiful talent at writing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

