Week to Go

We are well into our third IVF round, and I don’t have a lot to say on it. I’ve pretty much resigned myself to simply moving through this and seeing what it holds. Egg retrieval is scheduled tentatively for the 6th. I’m not putting a lot of hope in this but there is hope, or I wouldn’t be doing this again. It is going to be what it is going to be.

ExcitedFace

Though I wouldn’t say, I’m completely calm on the matter. I did polish off an entire pan of brownies last night. Shane helped some, but it was pretty much a solo job. I’m also eating as if this is going to work. I’ve been doing the garden salad thing daily. It truly is a garden salad – it is all from my garden! I’m also keeping my protein intake high and keeping up with all those damn miracle supplements.

This has also made me feel like a horrible scientist going through this. In a normal experiment, you would change one or two variables plus have a control (I feel like a lab rat in a very messed up science experiment). For this third round of IVF, we have changed pretty much everything. Shane is on different meds. I’m on a high-protein diet. We are at a new clinic. I’m on levothyroxine for my thyroid. Shane and I are on 101 supplements that are supposed to cure infertility (I picked the ones that had at least some science backing to them). We are at a new clinic. Slightly new protocol. No fresh transfer and Lupron trigger (no OHSS in my future, hopefully!) If this works, I have no idea what variable was the magic bullet. If it all fails, well, at least I gave it all we had.

And I’ve previously mentioned that this is our last IVF round. I’ve stopped saying last. The word gives me heart palpitations. I don’t know if it is our last, maybe in a year, we will think a 4th round is a good idea. I simply can’t handle right now closing that door even if in all honestly, this is our last.

 

SpermMeetEgg

 

 

9 thoughts on “Week to Go

    1. I laughed at the fallopians. 🙂 Thanks for the well wishes – we need all that we can get!

      As for the supplements – we’ve been on them since October or November, so plenty of time for them to do something (or so we hope).

      Mine: prenatal vitamin, ubiquinol, inositol, vitamin E, vitamin C, very low dose of DHEA, fish oil, Vit D, inositol, L-carnitine, alpha-lipoic acid, melatonin

      Husband:, multi-vitamin, vitamin C, vitamin E, ubiquinol, carnintine, selenium, vitamin D, copper, glutathione, folic acid, Fish Oil, vitamin D, A-lipoic acid, folic acid, zinc, fish oil, melatonin

      Most of them are to prevent oxidative stress of the sperm and egg. Inositol and DHEA for egg quality. Ubiquinol for egg and sperm quality. If this works, we will have no idea which of the changes made a difference but if it works, we won’t care.

      Liked by 3 people

  1. Thinking of you and Shane and praying for this to be successful round! Can you share the percentage of protein you eat? Is it 30 – 40 percent? I struggle with protein intake – so any ideas you have would be appreciated. I like how you said “miracle supplements” that are “supposed to cure infertility.” I’m on a lot of those. I like how you said this cycle goes totally against the rules of science.

    Like

  2. Don’t forget to feng shui your house because that will align the stars and oh also pray to the Baby Jesus! heh.

    In all seriousness though, I had thought each round would be our last and had to stop saying it as well. The 4th round was after getting my thyroid in shape, and because I had the pregnancy/miscarriage on that, it gave me hope to try the 5th, then after the 5th fail we did the ERA which made us do the 6th. And now my body is in massive Fuck You mode as you know so we’re tossing our money towards adoption. The addictive nature of IVF makes me think sometimes of doing it a 7th round but like a (really uneducated) scientist I think I’ll need to change another variable before that happens. Who knows, maybe this detached retina bullshit will get my uterus to cooperate. Bad joke.

    Anyhow, thinking of you amiga – do whatever you gotta do for YOU.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. More like clean my house for the housesitter! No time to feng shui it – leaving to do IVF is extremely stressful which breaks the “relax” rule. I keep also looking for the stars at night to see if they are aligning but aghast – no stars! (It is still 24 daylight here!) Very bad joke but that is okay since I love bad jokes!

      IVF is so addictive – like gambling. That is the very reason we are doing EVERYTHING this round is so that we don’t have that “maybe we should try a new round because X changed.” Nope, all changed, so we move on. Remaining calm (minus the panic packing) and moving forward. What will be, will be.

      I also wish I really knew what I needed to do. As much as you prepare, you are never prepared.

      Liked by 2 people

    2. When you write body is in “massive Fuck U mode” i automatically thought of an animated gif that doxiemom posted a few months ago. It’s a uterus and one of of the Fallopian tubes is giving the middle finger. Priceless. That’s how I feel sometimes with my own body.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. oh wow, I really hope this will be your lucky cycle! All those supplements sound really good. I took vitamin D, coq10, melatonin, DHEA, folic acid and omega3 before this past round. And hubby took vitamin D and coq10. It sounds like you have the right attitude, just staying calm and taking things one day at a time. Praying your egg retrieval will go well and that you’ll get good fertilization!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

